MINUTES

OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE GUILDHALL, NORTHAMPTON, ON Thursday, 28 November 2013 AT SIX THIRTY O'CLOCK IN THE EVENING

PRESENT: HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR Councillor Marriott (in the Chair).

COUNCILLORS: Caswell, Ansell, Aziz, Beardsworth, Begum, Bottwood, I. Choudary, N Choudary, Flavell, Golby, Gowen, Hadland, Hallam, Hibbert, Hill, King, Lane, Larratt, Lynch, Mackintosh, Malpas, Markham, Mason, Nunn, Oldham, Palethorpe, Parekh, Patel, Strachan, Subbarayan, Wire DL and Yates

1. WELCOME BY THE MAYOR

The Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked invitees for attending the ceremony.

2. APOLOGIES.

Apologies were received from Councillors Eldred, Yates, Ford, Mennell, Conroy, Stone, Capstick, Duncan, Sargeant and Glynane.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

4. CONFERRAL OF TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Mayor referred to the motion set out on the agenda paper that had been agreed by Council at its meeting on the 23rd May 2013 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillors Michael Boss, Tony Clarke, Keith Davies, Ulric Gravesande, Colin Lill, Judith Lill, Malcolm Lloyd, Richard Matthews and Marianne Taylor.

It was noted that Colin and Judith Lill were unable to attend the special Council meeting. Therefore, a presentation would be arranged for them at a later date.

The Mayor then invited Councillors Mackintosh, Wire DL and Beardsworth to endorse the motion.

RESOLVED:

That in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 former Councillors Michael Boss, Tony Clarke, Keith Davies, Ulrich Gravesande, Colin Lill, Judith Lill, Malcolm Lloyd, Richard Matthews and Marianne Taylor.be awarded the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Northampton.

The meeting concluded at 7.16pm